MTG Judge Comprehensive Rules (CR) Practice Exam 2025 - Free Judge Rules Practice Questions and Study Guide

Question: 1 / 400

If a spell or ability is countered, what happens to the costs that were paid?

The costs are refunded to the player.

They are retained and cannot be refunded.

When a spell or ability is countered, the costs that were paid to cast the spell or activate the ability are retained and cannot be refunded. This means that the mana spent or any other costs incurred (such as sacrificing a creature or paying life points) are not returned to the player who cast the spell or activated the ability. In Magic: The Gathering, the concept is that once a spell is cast and costs are paid, those costs are a part of the game state associated with that action, regardless of whether the spell ultimately resolves or is countered.

In this context, it is important to recognize that costs are distinct from the spell's effect. Even if the effect doesn't take place, the resources used to cast the spell or activate the ability are considered spent and are not recoverable, reflecting the nature of commitment in the game. Therefore, the choice that correctly reflects this principle is that the costs are retained and cannot be refunded.

Understanding this aspect of game mechanics is crucial for players and judges alike, as it highlights important strategic considerations when deciding whether to attempt to cast spells or use abilities in scenarios where they might be countered.

Get further explanation with Examzify DeepDiveBeta

The player may discard cards to regain them.

The costs are lost without any compensation.

Next Question

Report this question

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy